« Training Critical Thinkers and Problem Solvers | Main | Student Teacher Time! »

PAEMST Awards Now Include Computer Science

This year, for the first time, the prestigious Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) specifically include computer science!

The PAEMST award is the highest honors bestowed by the United States government specifically for K-12 mathematics and science teaching. The PAEMST program authorizes the President to bestow up to 108 awards each year. Awards are given to mathematics and science teachers from each of the 50 states and four U.S. jurisdictions. The award recognizes those teachers who develop and implement a high-quality instructional program that is informed by content knowledge and enhances student learning. Since the program's inception, more than 4,200 teachers have been recognized for their contributions in the classroom and to their profession.

And thanks to the hard work and dedication of National Science Foundation Program Officer Jan Cuny, for the first time this year computer science teachers have been formally acknowledged and encouraged to apply. Eligible teachers must meet the following criteria:

  • Teach mathematics or science (including computer science) at the 7-12th grade level in a public or private school.
  • Hold at least a bachelor's degree from an accredited institution.
  • Be a full-time employee of the school or school district as determined by state and district policies, and teach K-12 students at least 50% of the time.
  • Have at least 5 years of full-time, K-12 mathematics or science (including computer science) teaching experience prior to the 2012-2013 academic school year.
  • Teach in one of the 50 states or the four U.S. jurisdictions. The jurisdictions are Washington, DC; Puerto Rico; Department of Defense Education Activity schools; and the U.S. territories as a group (American Samoa, Guam, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, and the U.S. Virgin Islands).
  • Be a U.S. citizen or permanent resident.
  • Not have received the PAEMST award at the national level in any prior competition or category.
  • Applications for nomination are due May 1, 2013 and if you know an exemplary computer science teacher, we strongly encourage you to nominate her or him.

    It is also important to note that, as technical guidance, the PAEMST award reviewers will be referring specifically to the CSTA K-12 Computer Science Standards.

    Chris Stephenson
    CSTA Executive Director

    Post a comment

    (If you haven't left a comment here before, you may need to be approved by the site owner before your comment will appear. Until then, it won't appear on the entry. Thanks for waiting.)