« CSEDWeek Highlights at ASMSA | Main | The Unsung Heroes of CSEDWeek »

Faces of Computing Poster Contest Winners

In honor of Computer Science Education Week, CSTA is pleased to announce the winners of the 2nd annual Faces of Computing student poster contest. This year, over 640 posters were entered into the contest. These posters were created by computing students in 8 countries and 25 U.S. states. The creativity and design process that went into making this collection of posters was phenomenal, making the judging process both challenging and rewarding. CSTA is pleased to award robots to the classrooms of the top three winners in each category.

The winners of this year's contests include:

First Place
Deziree Ensrud, Hanna Strom, Emma Cheyenne Barfield, Connor Elser, Sean Baker, Falesoa Tufi, Ariana Carter, Lacey Campbell, & Nettie Oswalt;
Hal Kula Elementary in Wahiawa, HI.
Teacher: Megan Cummings

Second Place
Espen Garner and Nico Anderson-Comas;
St. Margaret's Episcopal School in San Juan Capistrano, CA.
Teachers: Stefani Baker and Londa Posvistak

Third Place
Gojko Panic
Djura Jaksic Elementary, Serbia.
Teacher: Jasmina Jerkovic

First Place
Stephani Kim, Sue Lee, Vaishnavi Sesetty, & Sriya Srikanth
Roberto Clemente Middle School in Germantown, MD.
Teacher: Ebony Glover

Second Place
Gabriela Ortiz and Kimberly Ortiz-Figueroa;
Corvallis Middle School of Arts and Technology in Norwalk, CA.
Teacher: Margaret Munoz

Third Place
Sophia Achar, Alex Murphy, Eli Minsky, Jaren Lewison, Jason Kirschenbaum, Adam Frydman, Roslyn Tatom, Miles Schickman, Rebecca Herschberg, & Eden Schachter;
Ann & Nate Levine Academy in Dallas, TX.
Teacher: Sharolyn Brown

First Place
Gabriel Zarazua
Grant High School in Valley Glen, CA.
Teacher: Aimee Dozois

Second Place
Aaliyah Malone
John D. O'Bryant in Roxbury, MA.
Teacher: Denise Traniello

Third Place
Sierra Hearn
Lincoln Public Schools IT Focus Program in Lincoln, NE.
Teacher: Steve Carr

All of the winning posters are now available for download on the CSTA website.

Thanks to all students and teachers who took the time to participate in this contest!

Joanna Goode
Chair, Equity Committee

Post a comment

(If you haven't left a comment here before, you may need to be approved by the site owner before your comment will appear. Until then, it won't appear on the entry. Thanks for waiting.)